Wale Threatens Complex Magazine Staff (Listen)

vibe-vixen-wale1Earlier this week, Complex Media released their annual “50 Best Albums of the Year” list and as usual there were various supporters and detractors. However the most vocal and high-profile critic was MMG rapper Wale who took up the initiative to call the Complex offices Wednesday afternoon to voice his complaints (which you can hear in full here) about why he believes his third solo album The Gifted (released June 25th) wasn’t granted placement on their list. In the volatile phone conversation, Associate Music Editor Insanul Ahmed politely informs Wale on how the staff structures the their end-of-year lists but the D.C. rapper wasn’t having any of it as he angrily expresses his discontent with their constant overlooking of his music. The call ends with Wale stating that he plans to come in to the Complex office space and haul ass. Listen to the call here. Peep Wale making fun of the whole ordeal via Instagram below.

Do you believe The Gifted deserved a spot on Complex’s “Top 50 Album” list? Was it better than Juicy J’s Stay Trippy? Remember, Wale has never been one to be timid about his placement in hip-hop as he repeatedly describes himself as underrated. Was Complex in the wrong for recording the interview? Keep in mind that Wale’s album wasn’t on various “respected” music publications’ “Album of Year” lists.

“You mean to tell me Juicy J album better than mine?”

Read Wale’s complaints below:

So, you think y’all being a responsible publication by continuously to f*cking like… do all do all that petty sh*t? At this point, you know it’s got to be personal. And by ou telling me it’s not personal. It’s like a bold face lie. To be omitted from every type of list that y’all do or be at the bottom of it or every type of way that y’all can omit me, ya will. I just want somebody to be 100 with me a be like, ‘Yeah, you might have rubbed somebody the wrong way years ago in some form or fashion.’ Because I’ve had no interaction with the company in years. You mean to tell me Juicy J album better than mine? Is that what you trying to tell me?! Don’t play me man. I came at you civil right now, but it can go completely in another direction. Respect me, dog. Respect the f*cking culture right now! Because right now it’s like some petty sh*t going on right now. And I’m trying to get to the bottom of it in a civil manner.

Man, f*ck you dog! You know it’s disrespect! Every f*cking time, dog. I swear to God I’ll come to that f*cking office and start knocking n*ggas the f*ck out. You wanna see some ghetto ignorant sh*t? That’s the only thing y’all promote. That’s the only thing y’all promote from n*ggas, is ghetto ignorant sh*t! You giving me the same song and dance like I’m a f*cking idiot. You think I’m a f*cking idiot? Is that what you’re trying to tell me? I think you think think I’m a f*cking idiot. Because y’all always do this sh*t How you mean to tell me my album ain’t in the top 50? Alright, I’ll see y’all tomorrow n*ggas tomorrow. How bout that? Get the security ready.

 

 

Leave a Reply

