Wanna Make Your Ears Bleed?: Kidz Bop’s Version of “Thrift Shop”

Earlier this year, I wrote a whole post pertaining to why I had such a strong hatred towards Macklemore and Ryan Lewis‘ number one hit “Thrift Shop”. Of course, Kidz Bop had to put their own spin on the song and re-sell it to over-zealous American pre-teens who probably LOVED the original version and were the reason why the song went 6x PLATINUM.

Anyway, last night, while I was browsing through the iTunes Store, I (for some strange reason) came upon this song and proceeded to listen to the 30-second preview…kill self. This version surpasses the annoyance of the original rendition by an extraordinary amount. The edited lyrics, the kids’ voices, pretty much everything about the song is pretty damn wretched. I had to listen to the full version on YouTube because I couldn’t believe that something this bad was released to the public. Please, brace yourself and then proceed to press the play button above. WTF…

“I’m going to rock some tags”

“Now walk into the club like ‘What up?! I got a hit song!'”

“Probably should’ve washed this, smells like my baseball cleats”

Leave a Reply

